The “nutrient equivalent” of lithium for me

Dear group:

What follows is copy that I wrote in 2005. It regards the “nutrient equivalent” of lithium for me.

I thought that perhaps some persons might find this material of interest or use to them.

Allen

Dear (name removed):

Nutrient and/or amino acid response is individual to a great extent. What works for one person may not work (or may work in reverse) for another person in regard to inhibition vs. excitation.

Therefore, both (1) dose up slowly with nutrients and/or free form amino acids while monitoring how you feel, and (2) trust how you feel and make adjustments accordingly. You should have, or must have, developed a solid sense of your early warning signs to do this. Mary Ellen Copeland’s books may be quite helpful here. They can be found on http://www.mentalhealthrecovery.com.

In addition to inhibitory amino acids slowing my brain down and/or helping me with sleep, the nutrient combination of 500 mg. of L-carnitine taken and the morning and three to five capsules of phosphatidyl choline capsules from Solgar had a very PROFOUND effect on slowing my brain down… this nutrient combination lowered the volume of my speech very noticeably, it slowed my speech way down, and it even “made me drive slower that the speed limit” (much slower than I used too, especially if I took enough phoshatidyl choline).

There may be other nutrient cofactors involved in the above.. but I was/am taking so many other nutrients (vitamins, minerals, EFA’s, etc.) that I could not (and still can not) tell which was doing which to know here.

Carnitine and phos chol may not work with everyone to slow their brain down, but it sure worked with me… I consider this nutrient combination my “lithium equivalent”. It is an equivalent that has had no adverse side effects for me whatsoever. I’ve been using this nutrient combination since the fall of 1997 when I first discovered
how well it worked for me.

Carnitine appears to me to be a key nutrient cofactor in regard to the utilization of choline in order to produce or activate the major neurotransmitter called acetylcholine in the human brain.

The book “The Mood Cure” by Julia Ross contains similar information to mine in regard to inhibitory nutrients, with the exception of carnitine/phos chol, which she does not mention to the best of my knowledge.

Good luck in regard to your self administered nutrient trials… and good luck in your process of learning how to help yourself.

All the best,

Allen

18 thoughts on “The “nutrient equivalent” of lithium for me

  1. Pingback: My Nutrientscure WordPress Blog Titled *The FDA Will Mandate that Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured* Will Lead One to Many of My Alternative Medical Discoveries « iManagement Slices from Allen D for iWood 2012

  2. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured (10/4/2011) | on Suppression by Allen D

  3. Pingback: A Nutrientscure Blog Written in October 2011 That Has Links to Many Other Blogs I Wrote in the Past « Nutrientscure's Blog

  4. Pingback: A Nutrientscure Blog Written in October 2011 That Has Links to Many Other Blogs I Wrote in the Past « July4threvolution

  5. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured (9/19/2011) | on Suppression by Allen D

  6. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured (9/19/2011) « A Call For Justifiable Revolution in America by AD

  7. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured (9/19/2011) « A Call For Revolution In America and Worldwide

  8. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured (9/19/2011) | Willys3ClassicADHDBipolarRecoveryStories and More

  9. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured (9/19/2011) | Willy's Baggie Formula Ingredients and Why

  10. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured (9-19-2011) « Willy Darman's Self-Applied ADHD Recovery

  11. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured (9-19-2011) « A Call For Revolution In America and Worldwide

  12. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured (9-19-2011) | A Call For Justifiable Revolution in America by AD

  13. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured (9-19-2011) | 16 WordPress Websites That Brought The Feds Down!!

  14. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured | Wordpress Management by Allen D (aka ADOGG)

  15. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured « A Call 4 Justifiable Revolution

  16. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured (9-19-2011) With New Notes « A Call For Revolution In America and Worldwide

  17. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured (9-19-2011) | Federal Government Suppression of Truths

  18. Pingback: The FDA Will Mandate That Mental Illness Cannot Be Cured (9-19-2011) | on Suppression by Allen D

Leave a comment